Silent Music Wins BEST DOCUMENTARY @ CaribbeanTales 2012

I’m ecstatic to announce that not only did Silent Music World Premiere to a full house on Saturday 15th September, but we also walked away with the award for BEST DOCUMENTARY!!!

But let me rewind to the beginning of the night… on the heels of an incredibly positive week spent in the CaribbeanTales Market Incubator program held during TIFF (the Toronto International Film Festival), watching the film in front of such a large audience (nearly 200 people) for the first time and hearing all the laughter and enthusiastic outbursts of support for various characters in the film was electrifying. When the credits rolled to a soar of applause, I nearly lost my composure when an emotional Frances-Anne Solomon, Founder of Caribbean Tales who later said she was deeply moved by the film, introduced me to the Q&A panel.

Throughout the Q&A and after the screening I was overwhelmed by the positive responses from individual audience members, ranging from “Your family IS my family!” and “What a brave story!” to “Your dad should star in ALL of your films!”. Instead of misunderstanding my motivations for telling such a personal story (one of my fears) – it appears that the audience fell in love with my parents, the main characters of the film. What more could I ask for??

When I thought the night couldn’t get any better, next up was the awards ceremony and Frances-Anne was again inviting me to the stage – this time to accept the CaribbeanTales 2012 Award for Best Documentary. Words can’t explain how amazing it feels for the first response to this labor of love to have been so positive.

So while I soak this up, another huge THANK YOU to everyone who made this possible – there are a lot of you out there!

And until next time… stay tuned for more festival screenings!
About this entry